The Memory Book

The Memory Book Author Lara Avery
ISBN-10 9781786489319
Year 2016-07-07
Pages 368
Language en
Publisher Hachette UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Fans of All the Bright Places and The Fault in Our Stars will fall head-over-heels for this wonderfully original portrait of love and loss. Samantha McCoy has it all mapped out. First she's going to win the national debating championship, then she's going to move to New York and become a human rights lawyer. But when Sam discovers that a rare disease is going to take away her memory, the future she'd planned so perfectly is derailed before its started. Realising that her life won't wait to be lived, Sam sets out on a summer of firsts. The first party. The first rebellion. The first friendship. The last love.

Memory

Memory Author Susannah Radstone
ISBN-10 9780823232598
Year 2010
Pages 561
Language en
Publisher Fordham Univ Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

These essays survey the histories, the theories and the fault lines that compose the field of memory research. Drawing on the advances in the sciences and in the humanities, they address the question of how memory works, highlighting transactions between the interiority of subjective memory and the larger fields of public or collective memory.

Memory and Emotion

Memory and Emotion Author Daniel Reisberg
ISBN-10 019534796X
Year 2003-12-04
Pages 432
Language en
Publisher Oxford University Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Understanding the interplay between memory and emotion is crucial for the work of researchers in many arenas--clinicians, psychologists interested in eyewitness testimony, psychobiologists, to name just a few. Memory and Emotion spans all these areas and brings them together into one volume. Daniel Reisberg and Paula Hertel have assembled contributions from the most visible and productive researchers working at the intersection of emotion and memory. The result is a sophisticated profile of our current understanding of how memory is shaped both by emotion and emotional disorder. The diverse list of topics includes the biology of traumatic memory, the memory disorders produced by depression, anxiety, and schizophrenia, the nature of emotional memory both in children and the elderly, and the collective memory processes at work in remembering the Holocaust. This unified collection of cutting-edge research will be an invaluable guide to scholars and students in many different research areas.

Memory and Gender in Medieval Europe 900 1200

Memory and Gender in Medieval Europe  900 1200 Author Elisabeth M. C. Van Houts
ISBN-10 0802082777
Year 1999
Pages 196
Language en
Publisher University of Toronto Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Elisabeth van Houts argues that in the Middle Ages, as now, the knowledge of the past was shaped by men as well as women. Men may have dominated the pages of literature but many of the stories they wrote were told to them by women.

The Gallery of Memory

The Gallery of Memory Author Lina Bolzoni
ISBN-10 0802043305
Year 2001
Pages 332
Language en
Publisher University of Toronto Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

This book takes as its starting point a striking paradox: that the antique tradition of the art of memory ? created by an oral culture ? reached its moment of greatest diffusion during an age that saw the birth of the printed book.

Memory

Memory Author Elizabeth Ligon Bjork
ISBN-10 0080536190
Year 1996-09-18
Pages 586
Language en
Publisher Academic Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Memory conveys the state of knowledge regarding human memory. This book is composed of seven parts beginning with a discussion on different memory structures and the processes that regulate the flow of information between those structures. A chapter follows on the distinction between explicit and implicit memory. Other chapters address the different aspects of storing information in long-term memory; how information in long-term memories is accessed; and the controlling and monitoring of such storage and retrieval processes. How memory capacities and characteristics vary as a function of individual differences and aging, as well as the implications of memory research for two real-world domains of strong interest: witness interrogation and testimony and the long-term retention of skills and knowledge, are also addressed. This handbook will be an important resource for students of human memory.

Empire and Memory

Empire and Memory Author Alain M. Gowing
ISBN-10 1139445820
Year 2005-08-11
Pages
Language en
Publisher Cambridge University Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The memory of the Roman Republic exercised a powerful influence on several generations of Romans who lived under its political and cultural successor, the Principate or Empire. Empire and Memory explores how (and why) that memory manifested itself over the course of the early Principate. Making use of the close relationship between memoria and historia in Roman thought and drawing on modern studies of historical memory, this book offers case-studies of major imperial authors from the reign of Tiberius to that of Trajan (AD 14–117). The memory evident in literature is linked to that imprinted on Rome's urban landscape, with special attention paid to the Forum of Augustus and the Forum of Trajan, both which are particularly suggestive reminders of the transition from a time when the memory of the Republic was highly valued and celebrated to one when its grip had begun to loosen.

Music and Memory

Music and Memory Author Bob Snyder
ISBN-10 0262692376
Year 2000
Pages 291
Language en
Publisher MIT Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Divided into two parts, this book shows how human memory influences the organization of music. The first part presents ideas about memory and perception from cognitive psychology and the second part of the book shows how these concepts are exemplified in music.

The Seven Sins of Memory

The Seven Sins of Memory Author Daniel L. Schacter
ISBN-10 0547347456
Year 2002-05-07
Pages 288
Language en
Publisher Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A groundbreaking work by one of the world's foremost memory experts, THE SEVEN SINS OF MEMORY offers the first framework that explains common memory vices -- and their surprising virtues. In this intriguing study, Daniel L. Schacter explores the memory miscues that occur in everyday life: absent-mindedness, transience, blocking, misattribution, suggestibility, bias, and persistence. Schacter illustrates these concepts with vivid examples -- case studies, literary excerpts, experimental evidence, and accounts of highly visible news events such as the O.J. Simpson verdict, Bill Clinton's grand jury testimony, and the search for the Oklahoma City bomber. He also delves into striking new scientific research, giving us a glimpse of the fascinating neurology of memory. Together, the stories and the scientific results provide a new look at our brains and at what we more generally think of as our minds. Winner of the William James Book Award

The Memory Book

The Memory Book Author Harry Lorayne
ISBN-10 9780307814067
Year 2012-01-18
Pages 240
Language en
Publisher Ballantine Books
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Unleash the hidden power of your mind through Harry Lorayne and Jerry Lucas's simple, fail-safe memory system, and you can become more effective, more imaginative, and more powerful, at work, at school, in sports and play. Discover how easy it is to: file phone numbers, data, figures, and appointments right in your head; learn foreign words and phrases with ease; read with speed--and greater understanding; shine in the classroom--and shorten study hours; dominate social situations, and more. From the Paperback edition.

Literatures of Memory

Literatures of Memory Author Peter Middleton
ISBN-10 071905950X
Year 2000
Pages 323
Language en
Publisher Manchester University Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

This book offers an original account of the construction of the past in contemporary literature, showing how its transgressive representations of time and space articulate new forms of social experience. Ranging widely across post-war fiction, poetry, and drama, the book reassesses the influential configuration of beliefs that modern culture has lost its history, that memory is memory of trauma, and that space and time have changed under the impact of new sciences, technologies, and social formations.

History and Memory in the Carolingian World

History and Memory in the Carolingian World Author Rosamond McKitterick
ISBN-10 0521534364
Year 2004-07-29
Pages 337
Language en
Publisher Cambridge University Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

This study reveals the remarkable quantity of varied forms and new types of history written in the Frankish realms of Western Europe during the eighth and ninth centuries. The Franks also preserved the classical and Judaeo-Christian histories from earlier centuries. Their books reflect a highly sophisticated and many-layered understanding of the past as well as a very creative use of history. Rosamond McKitterick illuminates the extraordinarily influential role of these history texts in the formation of political ideologies and senses of identity within Europe.

Memory

Memory Author David Moxon
ISBN-10 0435806521
Year 2000
Pages 70
Language en
Publisher Heinemann
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Part of a series of textbooks which have been written to support A levels in psychology. The books use real life applications to make theories come alive for students and teach them what they need to know. Readers are encouraged to use aims, methods, results and conclusions of the key studies to support their own arguments. Exam-style questions provide students with the opportunity to use their knowledge and practice exam questions. Answers are provided.

Trauma and Memory

Trauma and Memory Author Peter A. Levine, Ph.D.
ISBN-10 9781583949955
Year 2015-10-27
Pages 206
Language en
Publisher North Atlantic Books
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

In Trauma and Memory, bestselling author Dr. Peter Levine (creator of the Somatic Experiencing approach) tackles one of the most difficult and controversial questions of PTSD/trauma therapy: Can we trust our memories? While some argue that traumatic memories are unreliable and not useful, others insist that we absolutely must rely on memory to make sense of past experience. Building on his 45 years of successful treatment of trauma and utilizing case studies from his own practice, Dr. Levine suggests that there are elements of truth in both camps. While acknowledging that memory can be trusted, he argues that the only truly useful memories are those that might initially seem to be the least reliable: memories stored in the body and not necessarily accessible by our conscious mind. While much work has been done in the field of trauma studies to address "explicit" traumatic memories in the brain (such as intrusive thoughts or flashbacks), much less attention has been paid to how the body itself stores "implicit" memory, and how much of what we think of as "memory" actually comes to us through our (often unconsciously accessed) felt sense. By learning how to better understand this complex interplay of past and present, brain and body, we can adjust our relationship to past trauma and move into a more balanced, relaxed state of being. Written for trauma sufferers as well as mental health care practitioners, Trauma and Memory is a groundbreaking look at how memory is constructed and how influential memories are on our present state of being.

Committed to Memory

Committed to Memory Author Oren Baruch Stier
ISBN-10 1558497951
Year 2009-06-01
Pages 277
Language en
Publisher Univ of Massachusetts Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A probing study of the various forms of Holocaust memorialization.